Week 2 Marathon Training and Thai Peanut Noodles

Yesterday, I had my 2nd marathon training session. Through the Jeff Galloway training program, we are responsible for two 30 minute runs during the week then come together on Sundays to build mileage. I think that’s not enough, since for my first half marathon, I was running 4-5 days a week. 

We only had 4 miles to do yesterday, and we continue with the 1:1 intervals (1 minute walk, 1 minute run). They would have been torturous had it not been for the company of these women. One of my friends, MJ, whom I used to work with, is also training for the marathon. We run similar paces and it is our first marathon. I hadn’t talked to her in a while, so the 4 miles let us catch up. We all joked when we did 20 milers, we could all tell our life stories. MJ may not be in the happiest of places right now, but she’s a super strong woman that I have never seen play the ‘victim’. I’m enjoying running with her. The 4 miles went by in a breeze. Next week, we do 5 miles, with the Magic Mile thrown in (more about that next week).

So that takes me up to 8:00 am. Seriously. We got back home, did some yoga, then our friends texted us to go to the beach. Did I mention I live 3 blocks from the beach?  It’s heaven.

Image

After the sun became unbearable, we I came home and made these Thai Peanut Noodles. the recipe is from Cooking Light, a magazine I subscribe to (at least for the following month). I started my subscription before I went vegetarian, and it’s a shame they don’t put more vegetarian recipes because I truly enjoy their magazine. Anyhow I veganized these by subing tofu for chicken and it was really tasty. It says it’s a soup, but it turned out like a saucy noodle dish for me. The original recipe is here http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/peanut-chicken-noodle-soup-50400000128102/

but here is my adaptation

Image

Thai Peanut Noodles

  • 14 ounces uncooked fresh udon noodles
  • 1/2 cup Better than Bouillon Chicken Flavored Stock (vegan)
  • 3 tablespoons of chunky or smooth peanut butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 (13.5-ounce) can light coconut milk
  • 1 container of tofu, drained and cubed
  • 1/2 head Napa cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1 small serrano chile, thinly sliced
  • Sriracha to taste

Preparation

  1. Cook noodles according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain in a colander over a bowl, reserving 2 cups cooking liquid.
  2. Heat stock and next 4 ingredients in a large pan over medium-low heat. Add tofu and let simmer for a few minutes.
  3. Add cooking liquid, serrano,noodles and cabbage; cook 2 minutes or until cabbage wilts. Sprinkle with cilantro; serve with Sriracha.

My husband usually doesn’t like anything with an Asian flavor, but he really liked these noodles! They were the perfect after-workout meal too: tofu for protein, noodles for carbs, sriracha for all the other important stuff. Haha! I really like the stuff! 

This put us right to napping, then I skyped with my dad to wish him a Happy Father’s Day. The day ended with Mad Men, as all Sundays do. 

Sunday is quickly becoming my favorite day of the week.

What’s your favorite thing to eat after long runs?

3 thoughts on “Week 2 Marathon Training and Thai Peanut Noodles

Leave a Reply

